In Aid of
Spinal Cord Research

July 7th & 8th, 2015

Manitoba Paraplegia Foundation:
D.E. Finkbeiner

E.A. Braid, C.M., Q.C.

J.A. Richardson

Administrative Assistant
Ron Burky

Dr. Jan Brown
Dr. Kristine Cowley
Ernie Hasiuk
Dr. L. Nicolle
John Wallis

Golf Committee:

Russ Saladin
Rick Scott

Dr. Jan Brown
David Christie
Bill Gould
Gerry Hodson
George Howell
Grant Johnson
Thomas McIlwham
Russ Saladin
Rick Scott

July, 2015

The 2015 Will to Win Classic is celebrating its 32nd year this July. The charity golf tournament has raised over $2,000,000 for spinal cord research. These funds contributed significantly to the establishment of the Winnipeg Spinal Cord Research Centre (SCRC) 28 years ago. It is a world renown centre maintaining a high profile and international reputation in spinal cord research. In the past 10 years the SCRC, with support of funds generated by the Will to Win Classic, has hosted two symposia which attracted scientists and experts from around the world to discuss solutions for people with spinal cord injuries.

In 2014 the Will to Win Classic was proud to announce the completion of its 5 year commitment to raise $700,000 to fund the creation of a “gifted professorship” in the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. After an extensive search, the SCRC awarded this position to Dr. Kristine Cowley. Her knowledge and research, along with that of her peers, has led to significant progress in spinal cord research.

Today the SCRC is in a position to play a leading role in the development of a human spinal cord research facility. A requirement of this endeavour is the need to develop new software and analysis tools in order to continue research with human testing. The Will to Win Classic will provide ongoing financial support to fund the required expertise in equipment design, modification and maintenance. This commitment includes the purchase and placement of specialized exercise equipment in the Albrechtsen Reh-Fit Centre which will not only enhance the experience for spinal cord injured people’s visits to the Centre but will be utilized by the SCRC in gathering scientific data for the human testing program.

We are excited to kick start these new initiatives for the SCRC with the proceeds from our 2015 golf tournament.

The Will to Win committee members would like to thank all sponsors and participants as you are the driving force in the continued development in spinal cord research. The funds donated by the annual golf tournament have been and continue to be extremely important to the evolution of the SCRC.

Russ Saladin, Tournament Co-Chair
Rick Scott, Tournament Co-Chair

2015 Sponsors

Past Sponsors:
2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999.

Will-to-Win Classic History

Photo of 2015 Winners

Past Sponsors and Winners’ Photos:
2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999.

Scholarship Recipients -
past and present

Will-to-Win Symposium
May 13-14, 2013

Past Symposium: 2004

Will-to-Win Classic
Past Champions

Will-to-Win Classic
Official Tournament Site

Web pages courtesy of SCRC
Will to Win Classic:
c/o Rick Scott,
92 Douglas Park Road,
Winnipeg, MB. R3J 1Z2
The Director and Members of the SCRC wish to gratefully acknowledge the continuing support of the Will to Win Classic Committee since its inception in 1984.